Eyes of the Placebo. Pt.3

The whole text.

“Is anyone here?”
The voice faded slowly. Dark hall remained silent.

“Is anyone here? Anybody, hello?”

“In here”.

I ran into the room. There was a man in a chair.

“Once there was a star”, he said, almost hidden in gloom. “There was a star, a really beatiful one. A keen one. One day, the star gone away. Never to be seen again.”

He left the chair and slowly came closely, still irrecognizable in the dark.

“And what happened? Who are you, for God’s sake?”
“Well, young man”, the man replied, staring at me as he was reaching me with his hand. “Believe me, you don’t really want to…

“…Know”.

I woke up.

She was here, watching me closely. Her hair was glowing softly in a moonlight.

Her lips still kept the last breath of the word she just said.

Her eyes. Oh, God.

“Bad dream?”
“Sort of.”
“Tell me about your dreams”, she smiled.

“What?”

“Tell me about your dreams. Not the strangest topic of ours, I guess.”

“Why don’t you tell me about yours?”
“Alright, but you’re first.”
“Alright. Usually I see places I’ve visited before. Old gardens and parks, sea shores and underground stations… Common dreams, you know. Someplace you’ve been to, filled with someone you’ve seen here and there. Not a big deal.”
“So correct me if I’m mistaken : it was too common to sleep any longer, and you just suddenly woke up speaking?”

“Today it wasn’t the same.”

“What was it, then?”

“It wasn’t even a nightmare. It was just a.. strange dream. One could’ve seen it coming, in spite of my not-so-usual evening activities. It’s your turn, I guess.”

“It’s hard to explain.”

“Try me.”

She went silent for a minute, thinking about something.
“So…?”

” I’m searching.”

“Searching for what?”

“For the tune.”

“What kind of tune?”
“The right one.”

Madness. Once again, I caught myself thinking how stupid was the idea of talking to her, not to mention inviting her here.

“What do you know about your dreams?”

“You keep asking…”
“I’m not joking”, she said in more serious tone.

“You know, even after a whole evening  speaking with you about unreal reality and all this mind-blowing stuff like that, you still catch me surpised. What should I know about my dreams?”

“You tell me. Listen. I understand, you can probably think I’m crazy or something – but I’m not.”

“I don’t think you’re crazy.”

“You’re lying.”

She stood up quickly, with her voice trembling with anger.

“You’ve just lied to me! Looking me in the eye, you lied to me!”

“I did no…”
“No, you did! I still hear it.”

“Listen”, she sat at the same chair she was sitting in before.

“Orhpia, are you here?”

“Yes, mom.”

“What are you doing here?”

“I’m playing”, answered the girl proudly.

“Playing what?”

“That old strange thing.”

“What old…Stop right now!”

“What happened in your dream?”

“Oh, just a man…”

“The old one?”
“How did you…”

“What did he say to you?”

“He told me some kind of story. About a star, as I remember.”

“I was right, then.”
“Beg pardon?”

“Do you remember everything we’ve talked about?”
“Yes, clearly.”

“Listen then. When I was a child, I had a dream. It kept repeating, again and again…”

“What kind of dream?”

“Don’t interrupt me, please. One day, the dream changed. I found myself in a dark hall, full of strange gloom and glow. It scared me, I was terrified, but couldn’t woke up. So I asked I there was anyone here. Truth be told, I can’t say if I was wishing to hear any voice at all.

But I heard one. A deep one. A dark one. The voice was almost a being itself – and it scared me even more.

The voice called me.

I went in its direction. There was a room, and it was one of the most weird things I’ve ever experienced.

The room was divided. It wasn’t just a line or something like that – it was a divided room indeed. To the left there was a bright, yet smooth, shine, and there was my mother sitting.”

“By that time she was dead”, her voice lowered as her eyes filled with tears. “She was already dead for years.”

“Of course, I tried to touch her. But she stood up, and stopped me…somehow, I don’t know exactly how. She told me to calm down. She said I should listen closely.

She told me almost everything I’ve told you today. About skies without horizons. About strange things we appear to believe in. About the way to fix the tune I’ve missed all these years. She told me the story about the star you’ve heard in your dream. ”

“At least, tell me the story then.”

“Believe me, you don’t really…”

But he thinks he does.”

A sudden voice from another room broke into her words.

A deep voice indeed.

“Is that him?”

“Yes, that was the old man. But how…”

“Doesn’t matter. I think he has something to say to us.”

She turned to the mirror, looking for something in her pockets.
“What are you doing?”

“Wait a second.”

Finally, she found something. After a few seconds, she made something with the mirror and went back to me.

“What was that?”

“It doesn’t matter. Lets go.”

There was a light in the kitchen. The one we surely didn’t turn on.

As we reached the door, it suddenly turned off.

There was a man.

The same one I’ve seen in my dream.

“Who are you?”

That’s not the matter. I’m here for another reason. What do you think about the story she told you this evening?
“You mean…”
I mean exactly what you’ve just thought.

“Well… I can hardly put it in words. It’s strange, it sounds rather crazy, but I can’t find anything to argue about. It’s just a whole, a monolith my reason can’t neither broke or ignore. ”

A monolith, you say“, replied the man with faint smile in his voice. “What if I tell you that she’s just mad?
“Then I’d say that we make a nice couple, according to the fact that she’s here right now.”

You know, what’s really important in this whole story of yours, young man? What really maters now, and does after all? It’s the decision. The turn you take, and the point when you decide to turn. You could still make it all wrong, you know. You always can.  But now the hard part begins. ”

She started crying again.

“What’s the hard part?”

The cry went louder.

You don’t really want to…

“…Know.”, I said, as I woke up.

 

The last part.

The whole text.

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Eyes of the Placebo. Pt.3

  1. […] The third part. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Tagged 2, eyes, of, part, placebo, pt […]

Leave a comment